Honoring the 2021 Distinguished Alumni and 4 Under 40 Awardees

Honoring the 2021 Distinguished Alumni and 4 Under 40 Awardees

The CWU Alumni Association honored 13 individuals for their embrace of Central’s spirit and mission during the 2021 Distinguished Alumni Awards, held virtually on April 16.

“It is with great pride and admiration that I congratulate the 2021 Distinguished Alumni recipients on behalf of the CWU Alumni Association,” said CWU Alumni Association Board President Karina Busch. “The recipients have demonstrated excellence within their professions and made lasting impacts within their communities.

“These individuals have demonstrated the true meaning of civic engagement by serving as leaders and mentors,” she continued. “The Wildcat community is proud and thankful for all the contributions made by these incredibly talented and generous individuals.”

Alumni of the Year

Joseph P. Stoltman (’62)—Distinguished Professor of Geography and Science Education, Western Michigan University

Philanthropists of the Year

Dave Heaverlo (’73) and Peggy Basler McNutt (’74, ’90)—Manager, Sand Lake Farms, LLC (Dave)

Young Philanthropist of the Year

Sabrina M. Dominguez (’18)—Marketing Coordinator, Thomas James Homes

Distinguished Alumni Award Recipients

College of Arts and Humanities

Myron N. Dobashi (’65)—Retired Brigadier General and Assistant Adjutant General, Air, Department of Defense, State of Hawaii, and former commander of the Hawaii Air National Guard

College of Business (Awarded Posthumously)

Ed F. Dooley (’64)—Retired Chief Financial Officer for Community Hospice, Inc., Community Hospice Foundation Inc., CHI Management, Inc, and Samaritan Village, Inc.

College of Education and Professional Studies

Mia T. Williams (’94)—Chief of the Office of African American Male Achievement, Seattle Public Schools

College of the Sciences

Joseph P. Stoltman (’62)—Distinguished Professor of Geography and Science Education, Western Michigan University

4 Under 40 Award Recipients

College of Arts and Humanities

Sergey Bogza (’11)—Music Director and Conductor, Millikin-Decatur Symphony Orchestra

College of Business

Brittany A. Lewis (’11)—Finance Manager, Microsoft

College of Education and Professional Studies

Matt E. Johnson (’10)—Manufacturing Instructor, Snohomish School District

College of the Sciences

Kasey J. Eickmeyer (’14)—Quantitative Sociologist and Demographer, Center for Policing Equity

Alumni Trailblazer Award

Jon M. Lane (’70)— Trustee at Big Bend Community College and Retired Educator

Alumni Innovator Award

Mackenzie G. Adams (’18)—Kindergarten Teacher, Lake Stevens School District

Simone Corbett

Simone Corbett

Former 4 Under 40 Recipient Wins Daytime Emmy

Simone Corbett was a 2020 4 Under 40 recipient who is making the Wildcat family proud once again with her most recent accomplishment.

Corbett, an associate producer at Entertainment Tonight, and her ET team recently took home a Daytime Emmy for Best Entertainment News Program in 2020.

“Winning a Daytime Emmy and being recognized among the incredible team of producers and talent at ET who make this show a success, especially during this unprecedented time, has been an absolute blessing,” Corbett said.

Growing up, Corbett always knew that she wanted to pursue a career in entertainment, and during her time at Central she was very active in student media including Pulse magazine, The Observer, and Central News Watch.

She says that each of her experiences with student media at Central solidified her passion for journalism.

“My education at Central absolutely led me to where I am today,” said Corbett. “My journalism professors at CWU not only helped me become a stronger writer and producer, but their belief in me helped me to believe in myself.

“I was constantly challenged, both academically and personally,” she continued. “The foundational life and professional skills I learned while at Central are lessons I still carry with me today.”

comments powered by Disqus